Singapore: Shophouse The Social Hostel

IMG_8255one of the friendly staff

When I went to Holiday last February, my friends and I prefer to stay at Shophouse The Social Hostel. It located 5 minutes by walk from Bugis MRT, near Bugis Market, just a minute to Sultan Mosque, across Haji Lane, and a lot of cafe and restaurant. For the price? It just around 18 SGD!!!

At first, I was afraid to see the dorm bedroom since it wasn’t spring bed like another hostel. But after I figure it out, It was not as bad as I thought. Maybe because I lower my expectation, so what I got there really great experience.

The front desk really friendly, helpful, kind, and tell us about the tourist place around hostel. The first floor of this hostel is cafe. My friends ate there at second night we slept and said that it was delicious. The second floor is No Man’s Land for woman dormitory, the third is The Loft dorm consist of eight and 12 beds, and the fourth is Social Room consist of 12 beds , and the last floor was rooftop to eat breakfast and chill out.

IMG_8254working Title cafe

IMG_7872the computers

IMG_7873the pantry

At No Man’s Land or woman  dormitory, there are two rooms that consist of eight and 12 beds. For room with 8 beds, there is no window there. I really support you to choose beds that near the window. You can see the cute cafe around Arab Street. For one bed, there is a pillow, blanket, electrical sockets, individual lockers, and reading lights. There are also four bathrooms in this floor, but the toilet is become one with bathroom. So maybe if you not really use to it, it will be little bit inconvenient. What I love in here, they also provide you with iron, hairdryer, soap, and shampoo.

IMG_8250my dormitory

IMG_8253the bathroom

Another thing that I love is social terrace. In the rooftop, you will see room to get your breakfast and free use of the computers. Beside that there is also social lounge. There are board game, movies, television, and also books. There is also social terrace with beautiful view of Kampong Glams and Singapore buildings. My friends and I really love to sit back and talking about everything at the evening. In the morning, it was really interesting to see view from Singapore in the morning and enjoy our breakfast. We can chat with other  people in the social terrace. Event we went for Holiday at Singapore, we still see another Indonesian in here 😆 .

IMG_7888breakfast!!

IMG_7875Scenery around hostel

If you want to know more about Shophouse The Social Hostel, please visit their website.